Skip to content

Arthur Ashby Cup

This is the Association’s 6 bell call change competition. The rules are available here.

Arthur Ashby was elected to the Association in 1963, as a ringing member at Barlborough. He wanted to give something to the Association, it was decided a striking competition for less experienced teams should be started, and there we have it, a cup was purchased and the rest is history. In 1988 the first Arthur Ashby striking competition took place at Bradbourne and Derby Cathedral B team won it; in 1989 Mugginton won at Clay Cross with only 9 faults, and later featured in the Derby Evening Telegraph. Mugginton were predominantly a new band, their bells being dedicated on 1st November 1987 so this really was a remarkable achievement.

Sadly Arthur Ashby died in April 1990, no doubt he would be proud of the enthusiasm shown by ringers who now compete for this cup.

In 1995, for the first time, the Horsley Cup contest finals and the Arthur Ashby Cup contest finals took place on the same day at Horsley. Under new rules, the Horsley Cup was for method ringing and the Arthur Ashby Cup for call changes ringing.

Arthur Ashby Winners 1990 – date (with judges where known)

  2023 Wirksworth (Sally Brown and Lewis Benfield)
2022 Belper (Mick Angrave) 2021 No Contest 2020 No Contest
2019 Melbourne (Terry Astill) 2018 Belper (Colin and Jane Aked) 2017 Old Brampton (Mike Chester)
2016 Melbourne (Neil & Dinah Donovan) 2015 Melbourne 1 (Colin & Jane Aked) 2014 Old Brampton (Paul and Kate Flavell)
2013 Derby St Peter (Tim Poole) 2012 Stanton in Peak (Graham Hayward) 2011 Etwall (Graham Hayward)
2010 Etwall (Jim and Janet Crabtree) 2009 Ashford in the Water (Graham Nabb) 2008 Overseal (Alec Humphrey)
2007 Overseal (Ro Gay) 2006 Overseal (Robin Turner & Janet Rogers) 2005 Darley Dale (David Marshall)
2004 Etwall (Paul Jopp) 2003 Etwall (Bob & Ruth Smith) 2002 Sutton on the Hill (Alistair Smith & Paul Jopp)
2001 Overseal (Clarke Walters & Cheryl Hamby) 2000 Brailsford (Alistair Smith) 1999 Brailsford (Sally Mason & Richard Brown)
1998 Overseal (Clarke Walters) 1997 Etwall (Leslie Boumphrey) 1996 Etwall (Clive & Lucy Smith)
1995 Etwall (Paul Flavell) 1994 Long Eaton (Alan Moult) 1993 Old Brampton (Chris Bennett)
1992 Derby Cathedral (Simon Poole) 1991 Alvaston (Philip Hudson) 1990 Mugginton (Pat Halls)
Arthur Ashby Winners 1988 – 1989
1989 Mugginton (Peter Soar) 1988 Derby Cathedral B